RSS Feed

Friday Chi Faves: Running Lakeside

I have three favorite views of Chi.

(1) View of Chi from Lake Michigan:

(2) View of Chi from Museum Campus:

(3) And my fave! View of Chi from Lake Shore path:

Unreal.

This post isn’t about my favorite views of Chicago though, even though I’m sure you’re glad to know. This post is about running along the lake. It is hands down my favorite place to run in the entire city.

Sticking with the theme of threes, the top 3 reasons I love running along the lake include: (1) there are no traffic lights aka stopping every 20 feet (2) there is something exhilarating about running with what feelings like 25% of Chicago along the lake and (3) the views.

I’m not a hardcore runner so my outdoor running occurs in the right weather conditions spring thru fall with a good playlist. The people-watching along the lake is stellar. Top notch. But the best part of my run is when I’m past Castaways running south and I see my favorite view: the Chicago skyline. It takes my breath away every time. It somehow makes me remember how much and why I love this city. It’s truly stunning.

Never tried it? Well I highly recommend it (maybe not this week) but the weather report is looking a little brighter next week. And if you see me, wave and say HI!!

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

