RSS Feed

Travel Addict: NYC

Blog reading prep: Empire State of Mind

In the same break that I traveled to Charlotte, I went to NYC for our 2nd Aussie reunion.

Yep. Life was good.

I’d been to NYC two other times. The first time as a kid on Petersen Family Vacation. Best memory? Climbing to the top of the Statue of Liberty (I don’t think you can do this anymore). The second time I was 18 with one of my best friends Jillian to dance in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. Best memory? Well … the parade!

My most recent trip was a little different for a few reasons: (1) I was with residents of NYC, not fellow tourists (2) there were no parent chaperones and (3) we were over the age of 21 so I got to experience NYC’s nightlife a little differently.

Beej and Devin hosted Maureen, Jamie, Ariana and I – you may remember them from this post – for an awesome reunion weekend.

NYC is the most populated city in the US. It’s made up of five boroughs: The Bronx, Brooklyn, Manhattan, Queens and Staten Island.

Weather/When to Go:

I would argue that NYC has similar weather to Chi, maybe a bit less windy. Highs in the 80s generally in the summer, and lows in the 30s in the winter. Beautiful year round although I’d recommend going in the summer – my fave season!!

What to Do:

NYC is not short on things to do: Times Square, Statue of Liberty, Brooklyn Bridge, Central Park, Broadway Shows, Chinatown, Empire State Building, Ground Zero, Wall Street, Rockefeller Center, sporting events, Bryant Park … literally the list is endless. The one thing I’d love to do and have not in my 3 visits? Visit the Today Show taping. Considering I wake up to Matt, Ann, and Al every morning, it would be unreal.

Where to Stay: 

All three trips I’ve stayed near or in Times Square. There’s so much going on there and I absolutely love it. Check out Fodor’s recommendations here.

 

 

TRAVEL LINKS

I love NY

NYC – the official guide

 The New York Times travel guide

NewYorkology

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

