RSS Feed

Travel Addict: Charlotte, North Carolina

I ended up in Charlotte with my parents between jobs. I had left Scripps and had taken a week before starting at Groupon. The purpose of our Charlotte mini-vacation? Mom had a conference, so Dad and I would hang around Charlotte all day then meet up with Mom post-conference.

Weather:

Charlotte has a humid subtropical climate … in normal words? It has 4 distinct seasons. Average highs range from 50-90 and average lows range from -5-50. Overall more temperate and less precipitation than Chicago.

When to Go: 

You can really visit Charlotte any time of year. I’m not a huge winter fan and there is more precipitation in spring than fall, so I’d recommend summer or fall.

What to Do:

My Dad and I had a blast around Charlotte. Experiencing the NASCAR Hall of Fame which was both informative and interactive. Day 2 was spent on an amazing segway tour of Charlotte. Had I done a bit more research pre-trip, this walking tour looks pretty cool and it would’ve been fun to take in some Charlotte sporting events like the Panthers.

 

Where to Eat: 

While Charlotte Magazine names their 25 Best Restaurants, we enjoyed dinner at the EpiCentre each night – testing out Vida Mexican Kitchen y Cantina and Blackfinn. Both delicious and right up our alley. Post-dinner entertainment was also right at our finger tips – bowling, sweets, or a selection of bars and clubs!

 

Transportation: 

We were never really in a hurry so chose foot transportation. It seemed like while pubic transit was available, the best and easiest way to get around would be a car — be it your own or a rental car.

TRAVEL LINKS:

Charlotte’s Got A Lot Tourism Site

Visit NC

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Travel Addict: NYC « thetwentysixthyear

Leave a Reply

