RSS Feed

I’m obsessed with … Grandpa Pete

Sticking with the theme of people I’m thankful for, meet Grandpa Pete:

[Grandpa Pete’s 85th Birthday — Grandpa + Grandkids]

My Dad’s Dad, Grandpa Pete has been a positive influence my entire life. Since my Grandma Pete passed away in 2008, Grandpa has been living in Rock Island and I absolutely love visiting him when I make it back to Iowa. Some of my earliest memories with Grandpa and Grandma Pete include playing in the basement at their house (including learning to play ping-pong!), sleepovers complete with Grandma’s Swedish pancakes in the morning, playing wiffle ball in their backyard, and picking tomatoes and raspberries from Grandpa’s garden.

[Grandma & Grandpa Petersen, March 2010]

My Grandpa is so remarkable. He’s always been a man of few words, showing his love through affection and action. I will never forget how he and Grandma made it to almost every single dance performance growing up. And he is always so eager to hear about life in the big city … over some Whitey’s Ice Cream, of course!

[Visiting Grandpa, November 2012]

Over the years, he’s taught me the importance of family, time spent together, appreciation and faith. Anything that has rubbed off from Grandpa Pete in my life, you can guarantee is a good thing. He is truly the best and I am one lucky granddaughter!

[Grandpa Pete’s 85th Birthday — Father + Kids]

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

