RSS Feed

Happy St. Pats!

One of my favorite [non-holiday] holidays of the year!

Apparently, St. Patrick’s Day is a cultural and religious holiday recognizing the patron saints of Ireland and the arrival of Christianity in Ireland (source: Wikipedia).

In Chicago, St. Pat’s Saturday is the dyeing of the river, the parade, green beer and festivities galore. To me, St. Pat’s means the ChiRish Bar Crawl.

I was graciously invited to the ChiRish Bar Crawl last year by my good college friend Bucky. He and his friends from high school started the bar crawl 5 years ago. ChiRish 2011 will forever go down in history as one of my favorites days in Chi to-date.

I know what you’re thinking. But the ChiRish Bar Crawl is actually done for a good cause. In fact, last year we raised over $2,300 for St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital. This year they’ve decided to keep it more local and  all proceeds are benefitting the Children’s Memorial Hospital in Chicago.

I could not be more excited for my 2nd Annual ChiRish experience. 9am-5am. Great crew. Luck o’ the Irish. Drinking for the children.

If you’d like to help: Donate here!

HAPPY ST. PATRICK’S DAY!!

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

One response »

  1. Pingback: St Pat’s RECAP « thetwentysixthyear

Leave a Reply

