RSS Feed

Friday Chi Faves: Glencoe & the Lesniak’s

I love Chi (obvi) but sometimes it’s nice to take a break from the city, take in the beauty of the suburbs … and visit family.

Rewind to 2008. I had just graduated from Drake University and decided I was moving to Chicago!! The two biggest road blocks? No job. No place to live. One solution = crashing with family. The plan was to stay with the Lesniak’s in Glencoe, a northern suburb of Chicago, for a week. Well one week ended up lasting more like three months and will forever be known in the Lesniak household as THE SUMMER OF KATE.

The Lesniak’s:

Circa 2008, from the left include Clay (Sept 6 birthday buddies!), Uncle Tom, Aunt Lisa, Caroline, and Jonathan. Five of the most generous, loving, coolest people I know. They’ve grown up a lot since this photo (Clay and Caroline now both give me a run for my money in the height department) but I love looking back at photos from our summer together when they took me in, not as a cousin, but as a sister.

My brother and I always make a point to visit the Lesniak’s for a night or weekend outside the traditional family get-togethers. It’s always a highlight on my calendar and lucky for me, it’s happening tonight!

Yes I’m foregoing the normal Friday happy hour to spend the evening in Glencoe. I could not be more excited for what is a night that always surpasses any expectations in both the food and company department. I can’t wait to hear how Clay is loving high school, Caroline’s newest hobby or play with Jonathan.

 

Here’s hoping you’re all as excited about your Friday night as I am for mine! XOXO.

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

