RSS Feed

Travel Addict: Vail, Colorado

If you’re looking for an amazing ski experience, visit Vail, Colorado.

I traveled to Vail over MLK Weekend in 2011. My trip sparked from the desire to have a mini-Australia reunion with Moe and Devin. Plus I’d always wanted to go on a ski trip. I did learn that I am not the best skier (green hills yo!) but I also learned that I love Vail!

Devin and I flew into Denver where Maureen lives and we drove to Vail early the next morning. I rented equipment on our drive up and we stayed in a rented condo within walking distance to the mountain. The experience was UNREAL.

As the second largest ski mountain in North America, Vail has 5,289 acres of the most diverse and expansive skiing in the world. The trails range from green (easiest) to double black diamond with extreme and freestyle terrain — so it caters to all levels of skiers. Vail receives more than 335 inches of snow annually and almost 300 days of sunshine each year. It’s also home to a bustling town center full of shops, restaurants and an active nightlife.

In other words …

  • The mountain = awesome
  • The skiing = awesome
  • The climate = awesome
  • The town = awesome

“A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step.” – Lao Tzu

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

