RSS Feed

Friday Chi Faves: Goose Island Brewery Tour

They say you learn something new everyday. Yesterday I learned that this sign “&” is called an ampersand … and a few weeks ago I learned about brewing beer with Augustana College’s Business Club – my mom is their advisor.

GOOSE ISLAND BREWERY

Ever had a 312? Honkers Ale? Summertime? Great you’re already a step ahead.

Started by John Hall, the original Goose Island Brewery on Clybourn has been a Chicago staple since 1988. Chicagoans loved the beer so much that in 1995, John opened a larger brewery and bottling plant then in 1999 expanded to a second brew pub in Wrigleyville. Goose Island seems to have caught on as it’s now in 6 states and Europe. HOLLER! One awesome thing about these brew pubs is that you can actually watch the beers being brewed  as you’re sipping on your beer – brilliant! You can also expand your knowledge of these alcoholic brews by taking a Brewery Tour. Did you know that every beer is either a lager or an ale?

Added bonus is that the end of the tour is a tasting of 6 of their brews that I’d probably never had tried given the fact I’m loyal to 312. It was fun and educational … I highly recommend it!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

THE DEETS

Goose Island Brewery Tours & Tastings

Clybourn Location — 1800 North Clybourn, Chicago, IL 60614

Times:

Saturdays at 12:30pm, 2pm and 3:30pm
Sundays at 1:30pm, 3pm, and 4:30pm
Duration: 60-90 minutes

Cost:

$10 per person.

Must be 21 years of age with a valid ID

Reservations required!! (312) 915-0071

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

