RSS Feed

Home Is Where The Heart Is

You’ve heard the saying before. You’ve probably also heard “Home is wherever I’m with you” and since I don’t currently have a significant other, my “you” is my family. It’s true too. I can be anywhere with my family and it’s always amazing.

But there IS something to be said about actually going back to my hometown: Bettendorf, Iowa.

Bettendorf is a bustling town along the Mississippi River just across the Iowa-Illinois border. Bettendorf is part of the Quad Cites -(confusingly) 5 cities, 2 in Iowa and 3 in Illinois. Home of ALCOA and the Bettendorf Bulldogs, Bettendorf holds childhood memories from riding our bikes to the local Dairy Queen to trips to visit Grandma and Grandpa Pete to learning how to drive a car in the high school parking lot (scary). It’s one of those cities where everyone seemed to know everyone — and the people are truly what make it so great.

Since moving to the city, my visits home have become more and more infrequent but I have been home a couple times recently. Most recently, as you know from this post, I went home to deliver my old bed to my parents as well as attend the Annual Petersen Christmas Party.

The trip home was full of catching up, Porkie’s (a quick-serve restaurant my dad owns), Chinese ping-pong, old home videos, Olive Garden, and quality time. 1-MIN video recap:

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

5 responses »

  1. Enjoyed the home video – missed playing Chinese ping pong – actually it’s called Round Robin I believe – we don’t want to offend the Chinese…
    Who is the guy on the right? Is that your Tolf cousin?
    Your Aunt Patti

    Reply
  2. aw i LOVE the video!!!!!! especially the video of chinese ping pong (lol @ my moms comment – so politically correct) im glad you took a video of it, it made my night!!!!! =]

    Reply
  3. Pingback: I’m obsessed with … the 1st Annual Ski Trip « thetwentysixthyear

Leave a Reply

