RSS Feed

I’m obsessed with … New Years Resolutions

New Years Resolutions!

The fad that usually lasts through January, forgotten by February.

I love a good New Years Resolution. By definition via Wikipedia, a New Years Resolution is a commitment that a person makes to one or more lasting personal goals, projects, or the reforming of a habit. The two most popular resolutions fall under two categories: (1) Health or (2) Money. Most years I fall under the first category — workout more, eat more vegetables, take up yoga. But this year I’m shaking things up and jumping to category 2!

2012 New Years Resolution:

Live off a legit budget in 2012 … and save some money for LASIK, travel and an emergency fund.

I also have a secondary resolution to drink more water, but that’s not really here nor there.

Budget. Saving money. I’ve always been aware of the money I have but I tend to just spend it randomly. This resolution is going to take some time and organization — I’ll have to determine my monthly income, allocate that money to different categories (i.e. rent, utilities, cell phone, groceries) then add a new category: savings. I’m hoping to go on a trip (big or small) once every 3 months then also create a 3-month emergency fund by the end of the year. What is a 3-month emergency fund? To me, it’s enough to cover my fixed expenses for 3-months. By 2013 I’ll be set! Think I’ll actually do it? Here’s hoping…

What was your New Years Resolution? Will you stick to it?

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

