RSS Feed

Workout Wednesday: 5 Reasons Your Workout Isn’t Working

If you follow me on Twitter, you know that I retweeted this article from the Huffington Post yesterday. The Huffington Post is always legit. Below is a quick recap but also feel free to go here for the full article.  The best part? It identifies the issues then offers solutions.

5 REASONS YOUR WORKOUT ISN’T WORKING

(1) Your workout routine is making you eat too much.

You feel like since you worked out, you’ve earned the ability to eat more. But if you remember from last week’s Workout Wednesday post it’s 70% what you eat and 30% working out so track what you eat and maintain a healthy calorie count.

(2) Your workout completely wipes you out.

Recently, this is where I’m at fault. Pushing yourself too hard can apparently have the opposite effect on your body (who would’ve thought!) so remember to keep your workouts appropriate for your fitness level. And get some sleep!

(3) Your workout burns fewer calories than you think.

If you’re not entering your weight into the elliptical, treadmill, stairmaster, etc. then it is most likely going off the average weight of 155. It’s better to go off “distance covered” than machine measured calorie burn. So think 1 mile running or 2 miles walking, etc = 100 calories.

(4) Your workout’s not balanced.

You do 100% cardio 0% weights or  you can run like a crazy person but touching your toes isn’t happening in this lifetime. Your workout needs balance — a good mix of cardio, strength training, flexibility and core. It will also help keep you motivated in your workouts.

(5) Your workout is totally stale.

This is the other one I’m at fault for. As much as I love kick boxing and my go-to weight routine with 8-10lb weights, if it’s all I do I’ll hit a plateau and never see results. You need to change it up. Try pilates or yoga, join a sports league, or spinning. Use heavier weights for more intensity. MIX ‘ER UP!

Here’s that link again: Huffington Post article

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

