RSS Feed

Blonde vs. Brunette

Unveiling the 2011 Petersen Family Christmas Card Photo:

What a difference a year makes:

If you can’t see the difference in the two photos, let me spell it out for you. In my not-so-wise twenty-fifth year, I decided to go BRUNETTE. I suppose I could’ve made worse decisions. After 25 blonde years, I’d always wanted to see what I would look like as a brunette … grass is always greener on the other side, right?

The result: an extremely expensive, temporary experiment.

 

It was funny when people I knew would give me a double take and I’d have to confirm, yes, I am Kate. Also I’m apparently more approachable as a brunette. I constantly had randoms chatting it up with me – on the train, in line getting lunch, at the gym, you name it.

 

So … what made me go back to blonde? The truth is two-fold although there were many reasons. (1) I never felt like or recognized myself as a brunette. Ever. (2) My cousin Katie asked me to stand up in her wedding. We grew up our entire lives being “Blonde Katie” and “Dark Katie” — she has dark brown hair but we both have the same name: Katherine Ann. It was the perfect motivation to get back to my roots.

 

Though my year (ahem, 8 months) on the dark side were a fun experience, I’m loving life back as a blonde. Maybe it’s where I am in my life … or maybe it’s that’s blondes really do have more fun 😉

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

3 responses »

  1. i like the blond myself!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: BIRTHDAY BANGS « The Thread Affect

Leave a Reply

