RSS Feed

Special Edition: Thanksgiving Crafts

Twice a year, some of my favorite little people visit Chi: Natalie and Caroline! Having babysat for them throughout college in Des Moines (before they could talk or walk), I have watched the girls grow from babbling babies through potty-training toddlers into the amazing little ladies they are today. More like family than friends.

When their mom and my dear friend Janelle told me they’d be in town, I cleared my calendar for a night with the girls.

The agenda?

Thanksgiving Crafts!

Project #1: Turkey Puppets

Materials:

  • Paper Bags (turkey body)
  • Colored Construction Paper (feathers, eyes, nose, etc)
  • Markers
  • Glue sticks
  • Scissors

Cut out feathers, eyes, nose, gobbler, feet … anything you want for your Thanksgiving turkey.  Assemble using glue sticks. Decorate using markers.  Enjoy!

Project #2: Thankful Wreaths

Materials:

  • Thicker poster board
  • Colored Construction Paper
  • Markers/Glitter
  • Glue sticks
  • Scissors

Cut out a base for the wreath using the thicker poster board — a hollow circle. Select colored construction paper (Natalie chose red, orange and yellow; Caroline chose red, pink and yellow). Trace the kid’s hands on the construction paper and cut out. Glue hands to the base. Decorate using markers and/or glitter. The idea is to write what you’re thankful for on the wreath, but let the kids be creative! Natalie glued a piece of pink paper in the center of her wreath to write what she was thankful for (her fish!). Caroline just wanted glitter. They both look GREAT!

It was fun to see the girls be creative!!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

2 responses »

  1. Until today, I believe this was the last post I read, so I had a LOT of catching up to do and loved all of it! You, Kate, are the absolute best. Caroline & Natalie adore you, and I feel like you’re a very special member of our family. Love you!

    Janelle

    Reply

Leave a Reply

