RSS Feed

Sunday Night Dinner: Lasagna Florentine

My roommate Lin has a bomb family lasagna recipe.  In fact, every time it’s her turn to cook dinner for the week, I want her to make it … you think I’m kidding.

LASAGNA FLORENTINE

Ingredients:

-No bake lasagna noodles

-1 jar spaghetti sauce (we picked one with onion and garlic)

-1 lb ground beef (minimum, feel free to use up to 2 lbs)

-1 package mozzarella cheese

-parmesan cheese (to taste)

-1.5-2 cups small curd cottage cheese

-2 eggs

-salt & pepper (to taste)

-1 package frozen spinach

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. Brown meat in saucepan.
  3. Add marinara sauce to meat, simmer on low.
  4. In a small bowl mix eggs, cottage cheese, salt & pepper.
  5. Defrost spinach.
  6. Add a small amount of water in the bottom of a 9 x 13 pan so the no bake noodles will bake correctly.
  7. LAYERING!  In the 9 x 13 pan layer in this order: noodles then meat mixture then frozen spinach then eggs mixture then mozzarella cheese then parmesan cheese.  Repeat 2 additional times (3 layers total).
  8. Sprinkle some additional cheese on top.
  9. Bake for 30 (ish) minutes — it is done when the cheese is golden brown on top.
  10. Enjoy – makes about 8 servings.

If you haven’t noticed, this recipe isn’t as black and white as others.  It’s a family recipe that we alter every time we make it.  No link and adjust as you like.  Try different cheeses, add different vegetables (i.e. spinach) or just go with tradition: meat and cheese.  It’s all about what works for you so take this recipe and run with it… and please report back if you come up with anything amazing 🙂

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

3 responses »

  1. This looks great!! I like the idea of using spinach. I’m going to make it this week. I’ll let you know how it turns out! Thanks for the recipe.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: I’m obsessed with … my roommate « thetwentysixthyear

Leave a Reply

