RSS Feed

Friday Chi Faves: Chicago Marathon

WATCH THE CHICAGO MARATHON

Once a year this amazing event occurs: the Bank of America Chicago Marathon.  I look forward to it every year.  Not because I run it (I don’t have that much motivation) but because I am so impressed by the people who do.  This year it was on Sunday, October 9, 2011.  Lucky for us, mile 4 of the course went right past the front of our apartment building, MTB.  We were out by 7:45am to make sure we would to see the frontrunners.

They were pacing less than 5 minute miles. CRAZINESS.  But my absolute favorite part of watching the Chicago Marathon is the adrenaline rush I get when I see my friends or family members that are running.  Specifically my cousin Chris who ran in 2010 and 2011.  I hold my sign and search in anticipation around his 3:45 pace group.  Both years he’s actually seen me and shouts “Hey Kate” as I go cray cray for him… shouting, jumping, waving my sign and somehow trying to snap a photo:

That’s Chris’ back … the one on the right side of the street in black shorts with the tattoo.  I have a similar picture from 2010.  Clearly my excitement gets in the way of my photography skills.

Incredibly unique, the Marathon is a chance for Chicagoans to come together, lining the streets of our city and cheering for the inspiring 35,000+ runners.  Love it and can’t wait for 2012!

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

