RSS Feed

Special Edition: Pumpkin Carving

Special Edition.  That’s right.  Halloween is literally 3 days away.  Which means it’s time for my favorite Halloween tradition:

PUMPKIN CARVING

Sometimes I wonder, who seriously had a pumpkin sitting in their home one day and thought “Hmm I want to cut into that random fruit, dig out the innards and carve a face into it.”  Apparently it’s an old tradition from Ireland and Scotland  that the immigrants brought with them to America.  But whatever … it’s genius.

Every year I contemplate carving a happy pumpkin, a silly pumpkin or a spooky pumpkin OR thinking outside the box with one of those fancy designs like a sports logo or something else intense.  This year, the answer seemed clear: SPOOKY!

We got our pumpkin where all city folk do — the nearby grocery store.

Gave it a quick bath then it was time for carving.

 

 

Being a self-proclaimed “pumpkin carving pro” I enjoyed every minute of it.  Sticking my hand in the pumpkin’s guts, digging out the innards, and carving his spooky face … eyes then nose then mouth, the same order I used to do with my dad growing up.

Introducing … (drumroll please)

Our 2011 Halloween Pumpkin EGOR!

If you haven’t carved your 2011 pumpkin, there’s still time and I’m willing to freelance a creative face for you to carve.  My rates are reasonable.

Top 5 reasons to participate in this tradition stat:

5. It’s family-friendly.

4. It’s seasonal.

3. It’s affordable ($4.99 for the pumpkin, $3.49 for the optional carving kit).

2. It will enhance your enjoyment of Halloween.

1. I did it (everyone’s doing it) … you should too.

What’s your fave Halloween tradition? Did you carve a pumpkin this year?  Give me the deets!

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

3 responses »

  1. I just started following you after a recommendation from my daughter, the newly engaged Molly (loved your post about their engagement!) What a fun blog!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Special Edition: Pumpkin Seeds « thetwentysixthyear

Leave a Reply

