RSS Feed

Workout Wednesday: 20-20-20

I’m into week 5 of my Kwando challenge and things are going well.  But kickboxing is only 1 hour a week and if you remember correctly from this post, the average adult is supposed to do cardio 2.5 hours a week so I try to be creative with my other workouts to keep myself motivated.

Enter: 20-20-20

No, not my vision. A cardio workout that I created for myself.  The breakdown is:

  • 20 minutes of running
  • 20 minutes of elliptical
  • 20 minutes of upright biking

It’s creative and it makes for a solid 60 minutes of cardio which means a good calorie burn.  Also, it doesn’t seem as long as doing either of the activities for the full 60 minutes.  Obviously you can adjust as you feel necessary but since creating the workout it’s been a staple.

Here’s to 4 good workouts this week after taking off last week to get over my cold!!

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

4 responses »

  1. Kate – You should try 30 minutes of HIIT workouts (interval training) – they are seriously the bomb & you won’t get bored because you can create them just how you want them & you’ll definitely feel them. They are my go to! 🙂

    Reply
  2. How about the result of 4 weeks before and how many weight loss? If this work, I will try.

    Reply
    • Since starting this challenge I’ve lost 0.5 to 1 pound a week (which I consider healthy weight loss). In addition to the Kwando, I workout at least 2 additional times per week — I try to workout 3 additional times per week but sometimes that’s a stretch. I also make eating healthy a priority. The reason kickboxing has been such a good fit for me is that I love it and it keeps me moving for a full 60 minutes each week. I think that any class you can take that will keep your heart rate up for 60 full minutes will have similar results. It’s about finding what works for you. Thank you for following!! Let me know what you decide.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

