RSS Feed

Sunday Night Dinner: Chicken Tortilla Soup

The crock pot. Slow cooker. Whatever you want to call it … I love it; however, I’ve always used my crock pot on a Sunday so I can monitor its cooking.  I’ve also only ever made chili (really good chili) in my crock pot.  This past week, I made 2 life progressions:

  1. Got over my fear of leaving my crock pot on all day while I’m at work.
  2. Finally made something other than really good chili … really good soup!

The result: a weeklong lunch and dinner phenomenon, also known as Chicken Tortilla Soup made in the crock pot.

CHICKEN TORTILLA SOUP

Ingredients:

  • 32 oz chicken broth
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes
  • 1 can diced tomatoes with green chilis
  • 6 oz tomato paste
  • 2 cups frozen corn
  • 2 cups cooked chicken
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. cumin
  • 1/8 tsp. chili powder
  • 10 corn tortillas (I used flour and did not make tortilla strips per the original recipe)
  • Cheddar cheese

Instructions (the way I did it):

  1. Cook and shred the chicken. 
  2. Mix all the ingredients in the slow cooker.
  3. Stir ingredients.
  4. Cook on low in the slow cooker for about 8 hours, stirring occasionally.
  5. Turn off heat and let sit for 20-30 minutes to thicken before serving.
  6. Enjoy!

This recipe took me about 5-10 minutes to toss into the crock pot before work then was ready when I got home.  Convenient, delicious, and simple.  What more could I ask for?  I usually ate it with a couple flour tortillas or crushed chips and Lin added some shredded cheddar cheese — both versions were good.

The verdict: Highly Recommended

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

4 responses »

  1. yummm! i love how hearty this soup is!! looks absolutely delicious! 🙂

    Reply
  2. This looks so good! I’m making this on Saturday. I’ll let you know how it turns out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

