RSS Feed

Workout Wednesday: Be Inspired

What was your first race?

Were you anxious when you set your goal?

Were you nervous when it started?

Were you thrilled as you crossed the finish line?

My first 5K. Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure Quad Cities. June 14, 2003. Summer before my senior year of high school. I can’t remember what initiated the race now, but it was the start of what has become numerous 5K and 8K races and even a half marathon.

I have a good friend who hasn’t been as active and this past Saturday I took her for her first run ever.  After spending a good 6 hours on the couch catching up on TV and Pinterest, I made the decision.  It went something like this:

Kate: We’re going for a run.

Friend: What?!

Kate: We’re wasting this beautiful day. We’re going for a run, 30 minutes, outside.  We’re leaving in 15 so go get dressed.

And that was that. We did it!  We ran for 1 minute and walked for 2 minutes for 25 minutes then did a 5 minute cool down. While she experienced some stomach cramping, she felt great. During our cool down she decided that she’s going to continue to build up running 2 then 3 then 4 minutes at a time and so on. Her goal is that in the spring, she will run her first ever 5K! I could not be more excited and I will 100% be there by her side.

So here’s to everyone who is too busy or too scared or has some other excuse …

set a goal and BE INSPIRED

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

2 responses »

  1. you rock katie p! let me or nate dogg know if you ever need any male company…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

