RSS Feed

Workout Wednesday: Planking

Planking.

A new craze with over 723,000 Facebook fans that has earned time on nightly newscasts and was featured in The Washington Post.  Some say it’s silly, while others say “You got a body, you got a Plank.”

But let’s be real, this is my fitness post so I’m not talking about that kind of plank.  I’m talking about the planking that serves as a killer ab workout and strengthens your arms, back, calves, quads, and shoulders.  I remember being able to do planks for over a minute back in high school then I recently tried to plank and found my body shaking after only 10 seconds. WTF.  Well … the more you do it the easier it will become, so here is a bomb workout found on Women’s Health website (my fave fitness website)

Women’s Health 5 Ab Moves: Planking

  1. Opposite Knee Tuck – 10 reps, 1 set
  2. Oblique Grab – 10 reps, 1 set
  3. Side-Plank Flip – 10 reps, 1 set
  4. Two-Limb Plank – 10 reps, 1 set (this hurts my knees – weird – so I do a variation of arms then legs separate)

The goal is to add one of these 4 moves to your normal ab routine each day.  Even if I don’t get in a full workout, I do abs first thing in the morning or before bed so add one of these each day in rotation and you’ll be on your way to a bikini bod for the winter!

Here’s to sexy abs … WOO-HOO!

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

