RSS Feed

Sunday Night Dinner: Beef and Vegetable Cheese Casserole

As soon as I heard “zucchini” I knew I’d love this recipe. Have I told you about my new obsession with zucchini?  I’ve heard that our taste buds change throughout our lifespan and you’ll like new/different foods.  For me, that’s zucchini (I hope my mom is reading this).  Anyway, here’s the recipe:

Beef & Vegetable Cheese Casserole

PointsPlus™ Value:    7
Servings:  4
Preparation Time:  20 min
Cooking Time:  45 min
Level of Difficulty:  Moderate
Ingredients
2 medium tomato(es), sliced
2 medium zucchini, sliced
12 oz 95% lean/5% fat raw ground beef
1 large onion(s), finely chopped
2 clove(s) (medium) garlic clove(s), minced
1 cup(s) canned tomato sauce
2 cup(s) fat-free cottage cheese
1 large egg yolk(s)
4 oz low-fat cheddar or colby cheese, (1/2 cup) shredded
1 Tbsp parsley, oregano or rosemary, chopped
1/8 tsp table salt, or to taste
1/8 tsp black pepper, or to taste
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 500ºF (260ºC)
  2. Coat a baking pan with cooking spray and lay the tomatoes and zucchini on it.
  3. Roast  the vegetables for 10-12 minutes.
  4. In a large, nonstick skillet, saute the beef, onion and garlic until the beef is browned.
  5. Stir in the tomato sauce and bring to a simmer.
  6. Spread the beef mixture in a large, shallow baking dish and top with the roasted vegetables.
  7. Reduce oven temperature to  350ºF (175ºC)
  8. Whisk together the cottage cheese, egg yolk, cheddar cheese, herbs, salt and pepper.
  9. Spoon over top of the roasted vegetables and smooth with a rubber spatula.
  10. Bake until very hot and bubbling around the edges, 35 minutes.
  11. Cut into four equal pieces ***we did 6 pieces!!

Review: BOMB. It ended up being more of a “serve in a bowl, eat with a spoon” type meal, but tasted good every single night.  It only has 6 servings so 3 nights a person, but that worked because I usually have at least one night a week where I’m not eating dinner at home and I left for Dallas on Thursday.

 

So far Lin and I are 2 for 2 in awesome recipes… here’s hoping this trend continues.

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

