RSS Feed

The Workplace Crush

Recently a coworker looked at me dumbfounded when I told him that I’m not into dating people I work with.  His response, “We work at Groupon. Every single girl [or guy] is hot. Why wouldn’t you date someone here?” This after he went through his top 5 Groupon dream girls … really, why hold yourself to just one?  His statement does hold some truth: Groupon – young, attractive workforce and everyone rocks.

But I learn from experience:

I tried dating someone who worked for a different company but someone I worked with on a daily basis at my last job.  It didn’t work out.  Going from “Hey, let’s go on a date” to “Hey, can I have that flowchart?” Awkward.  So it’s just a rule of mine.  Coworkers are off-limits in my dating world.

<<HOWEVER>>

Being single, workplace crushes are not off-limits.  Especially at Groupon.  You need to respect relationships, but workplace crushes are fun, exciting and make the workday go by faster – nothing wrong with that. The most hilarious situation is when it goes public. “(fill in the name), Kate thinks you’re hot.”  Awesome.  He’s flattered (hopefully), I find it hysterical – it’s a win-win.

Now you’re hoping that I divulge my work crush but only my uber-confidential, top-secret confidants are worthy of that information so that will not be making my blog – besides it changes too often.  Gotta keep it interesting.   But keep the crushes alive.  It’s good for the soul and it’s good entertainment for everyone around you.

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

