RSS Feed

don’t mess with TEXAS

If you haven’t figured it out yet, I love to travel and today I’m leaving for Dallas – YEEHAW! I love Texas. You know that saying: Don’t mess with Texas? That’s right. Don’t mess with it because it’s already awesome.

I’m visiting one of my favorite people in the world — Jillian.  She’s outgoing, spontaneous, quirky, hilarious, and beautiful.  Our friendship dates back to 1997 when I gave her a tour of the middle school in 6th grade when she moved to Bettendorf, Iowa.  Our friendship grew on the dance floor through Goldusters, the Bettendorf High School dance team (see image below) continued performing in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade in 2003 and solidified as Golduster co-captains our senior year.  She remains one of my closest and best friends from high school.

My first visit to Dallas last August 2010 was one of my favorite trips to-date.  There was a lot of dancing and laughing and we had so much fun that I’ve considered moving there multiple times and moving to Dallas still remains on my lifetime bucket list.  Maybe I won’t come back … just saying.

An added bonus to Dallas, I also get to see some of people that have entered my life more recently:

April: My Dallas-based Account Executive for HGTV & DIY Network.  She is a rock star AE and person in general and has (unknown to her) become a mentor in my life.  She’s a blast and is the author of Marathons ‘N’ Martinis which I recommend following.

Meredith: April, Meredith and I completed our team for a few awesome months in 2010.  Meredith and I had a blast on her visits to Chicago riding public transit, “forcing” her to play in my softball and volleyball leagues, experiencing the Taste of Chicago, and becoming lifelong friends.  She recently got engaged to her bff Michael and I’m so excited for her wedding in Nashville in 2012.

7 hours to go at work then I’ll be on my way to the airport, excited as a little kid on Christmas and humming this song: Rihanna – Cheers (Drink To That)

Peace out Chi, I’ll see you on Sunday … I’m DALLAS BOUND!!!!!

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

2 responses »

  1. SOOO excited for you to be in Texas!!

    Reply
  2. I can’t wait for you to get here!!!! YAY!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

