RSS Feed

Workout Wednesday: Kwando

The CDC recommends that average adults get at least 2.5 hours of moderate activity a week plus muscle strengthening activities 2+ days a week.  Personally, I try to exercise 3-5 days a week with various combinations of cardio and weights.

This week’s workout class: Kwando at 5:30p with Maureen

After a year-long hiatus at Bally Total Fitness in the loop, I show up on Monday for Kwando.  I LOVE pushing myself in this class. Could I be present for 60 minutes and be lazy at the same time?  Sure – I witnessed it.  But what’s the point?  If I’m going to dedicate 60 minutes of my life, then I’m going to work my butt off.  My fave strategy is picturing something/someone I’m frustrated with and punching it/them.  Let’s put it this way… I’m convinced that if I had to fight someone, I could win.  Jab, cross, hook, upper cut, block and bring-it-on-home with a roundhouse kick.  BOOYAH!

Moving along… I was sore within one hour of the class.  I’m still sore, really sore today.  I’m going to chalk this up to my hiatus from this class, but also to pushing myself.  So here’s the plan: I’m going to take my measurements (arms, bust, waist, hips, thighs) today and continue working my butt off in this class for 7 more weeks (8 weeks total) then take my measurements again.  I’ll blog about it and see the progress can make with a collaborative effort to eat healthy and workout at least 2 other times each week.

Wish me luck!!

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Workout Wednesday: 20-20-20 « thetwentysixthyear

  2. Pingback: Workout Wednesday: Results! « thetwentysixthyear

Leave a Reply

