RSS Feed

Take Me Out To The Ballgame

My dad has season tickets to the Chicago Cubs that he splits with some buddies every year.  Great seats: section 130, row 8, seats 1-4 – 18 rows up from 1st base.  Last Saturday I went to the Cubs v. Astros game with my girlfriends Lin and Megan.

Picture this:

The game is going well – we’re drinking beer, chatting and semi-watching the game.  All of a sudden there’s a fly ball headed in our general direction so we stop to watch.  And then it happened.  The moment in which we realized it was coming straight for us.

What would you do if a fly ball at a major league baseball game was headed straight for you?

The obvious answer is probably to either (a) try to catch it while fending off nearby patrons or (b) get out of the way.  We chose neither of those options and instead opted for holding onto each other, a lot of screaming, closing our eyes, and I held my hat out in front of me to catch the ball – like that would happen.

As my life flashed before my eyes, the ball smacked the seat directly in front of me – Section 130, row 7, seat 2.  And a guy down the row came and grabbed it while the girls and I breathe easy that we were still alive.  While the Cubs came away with a 2-1 victory, I think we can chalk that experience up as a MLB FAIL.

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Friday Chi Faves: Cubs Game at Wrigley « thetwentysixthyear

Leave a Reply

