RSS Feed

If you had to pick 3 people to live on a secluded island with, who would you choose?

Throughout my life, I’ve been blessed with a ridiculous amount of amazing people who have touched my life in one way or another. But right off the bat you should know that I lucked out in the family department:

Karen (Mom) – the family matriarch, loves a shopping mission – 4am Black Friday sale? NBD. 20 things to buy with 15 minutes before close at Ikea? NBD. Known as KP among her Augie students/alum and has recently caught the travel bug.

Mark (Dad) – the family patriarch, die-hard Cubs fan and Ragbrai enthusiast.  Owns his own accounting firm which has led to his life of Tax Season and Golf Season – while it’s currently unconfirmed if he could hold his own against Tiger, it is confirmed that he can hold his own at the bar.

Matt (Brother) – the eldest Petersen sibling, successful Chicago lawyer. Owns a movie collection that rivals Blockbuster.  Has nasty habit of flying out in left field during rec league softball but continues to set the bar high in all aspects of life.

Every day I appreciate my family more and more.  Blessed with parents that go above and beyond in their parenting role and a brother that blurs the lines between sibling and best friend.  We have fun whether we’re spending a day in the city, on our annual family vacay, turning horrendous apartments into a new home or just playing dominoes on a Saturday night.

So the choice is quite simple … if I had to pick 3 people to live on a secluded island with these 3 would definitely top the list.

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

