RSS Feed

Hi, my name is Scarlett Blake…

This past Friday night I went to happy hour in the loop with co-workers.  As the happy hour continued to Wrigleyville, I was riding in a cab with a couple of the guys when they divulge a common bar technique: THE FAKE NAME.

I learn that one of the guys not only has one fake bar name, but three different names depending on the situation:

  1. Meeting someone with potential, but there’s something a bit off.
  2. Too hard to tell… 50/50 chance.
  3. Unchartered waters, never want this person to be able to track you down.

So it got me thinking – how many guys have I met that gave me a fake name? To be honest, it’s a phenomenal idea!  Why haven’t I ever considered this before?  I’ve definitely met my slough of categories 1-3 out and about in Chi.

We start brainstorming.

As a first timer, we determine that I should only have one fake name to not confuse myself. I can literally see it now “Uh my name is uh … my name is Kate.” FAIL. We decide on Scarlett Blake.  Scarlett because Scarlett Johansson has blonde hair too and Blake because I love Blake Lively (please refer to my favorite guilty pleasure TV show Gossip Girl) – obviously you can see our creativity was at an all time high.

I haven’t had the chance to use my alias yet, but watch out Chicago because this can only lead to awesome/hilarious things.

XOXO,

Scarlett Blake

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

