RSS Feed

Last Friday Night (no, not the Katy Perry song)

The City of Chicago Auto Pound.  This is where you find yourself when you walk out of your new apartment with your parents with eager plans to do some leisurely apartment shopping in the suburbs and your car is gone. CAR. IS. GONE. No joke <<This happened>>

As the nearby nail salon owner let us know that our car had indeed been ticketed and towed, thoughts of “car stolen” dissipate.  There ARE things worse than your car being impounded, obvi.  Thank God, the friendly nail salon owner gave us the phone number and address to The Pound and we were on our way via cab.  After learning there is actually a third level to Wacker (I guess that would be considered lower lower upper Wacker?) we made it.  The site gives me flashbacks of Prison Break, a TV series that I had a love affair with about 2 summers ago.  If you don’t know it, I recommend it.  Anyway I tried to get away with the “cute girl with a birthday” routine, but didn’t work.  $220 later we got back car #848872 – the beloved family Ford Explorer.

Lessons learned:

  1. Don’t park on LaSalle Monday-Friday 4-6pm.
  2. Read parking signs, they’re probably right.
  3. Avoid The Pound.
  4. If you do find yourself in The Pound, it’s open 24 hours, only the vehicle owner can pick it up and you must have identification and the registration.

And here concludes my first and last (fingers crossed) visit to the Chi Pound.

About thetwentysixthyear

September 6, 2011: I turn twenty-six years old. I live and work in downtown Chicago and really can't complain about too much -- great family, great friends, great life. So this is my personal blog. Experiencing and living my twenty-sixth year. I have no idea what to expect or where I'll be one year from now ... but one thing is certain: I will enjoy the ride.

2 responses »

  1. Love it! Oh but I’m sorry 😦 …but how funny! (sorry!) It pays to read the signs! And YOU pay if you don’t… you are still a cute birthday girl 🙂 (excuse me: WOMAN)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

